Tommy Christopher – White House Reporter

DC Inauguration Week

DC Inauguration Week

Yep, you heard me.

Starting hopefully this week, yours truly will be reporting live from the White House Press Briefing Room.  I made some inquiries today, and it is looking good.  I hope to do my first briefing on Thursday.

This will be quite a bit different than the Obama press conference.  The briefings are much heavier on the Q and A, they get through a lot more questions, and the opportunity for followup is much greater.

I’ll really have to be on my toes, though.  This isn’t like those campaign conference calls, where you can zone out until they pick you.

Anyway, I’m stoked but nervous.  Getting what I want is a new thing for me.  It can be a complicating factor.  Melle Mel had a point when he said sometimes wanting is better than having.  But, then, Buddha disagrees with Melle Mel, so who do I go with?  What does Patrick Swayze’s character from “Road House” have to say about all this?

One thing that has been immensely cool about the live reporting I’ve done is that there hasn’t been any kind of rookie hazing or resentment, and believe me I’ve deserved it.  Journalists are a pretty friendly bunch.  I’ve also been surprised at how on the ball the TV people have been.  I guess being a political reporter is a different thing altogether.

My plan is to cover 2 briefings a week at first, see how it goes.  The real challenge will be to make good use of my down-time in DC between briefings.  Do I resist the siren call of the DC pub crawl, or do I rationalize that it’ll be a good way to sniff out a story?  I was talking to my buddy, Jeff, over at Black Voices the other day, and he was of the opinion that we hadn’t partied nearly hard enough during inaugural week.  That’s funny, because I took myself out of commission for the better part of a day after one night of drinking, and teetotaled it the rest of the time.  I’m like Danny Glover in Lethal Weapon.  Sad.

Stay tuned.

3 Comments

  1. Thats hilarious. Great blog and hope to have some time soon to come back and read more!

  2. Ha ha ha, roadhouse.

  3. Hey awesome news Tommy and one other word for you …

    COAT


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

