Eric Holder Calls US a ‘Nation of Cowards’

Eric Holder Calls US a ‘Nation of Cowards’

U.S. Attorney General Eric Holder is causing quite a ruckus on the interweb tonight for remarks that he made to his justice department employees:

“Though this nation has proudly thought of itself as an ethnic melting pot, in things racial we have always been and continue to be, in too many ways, essentially a nation of cowards,” Holder said. “We, average Americans, simply do not talk enough with each other about things racial.”

Oh,Eric, I beg to differ.

I expect reaction to these remarks to fall into one of two camps:

1. “How dare that uppity so-and-so call us cowards?!?”

2. “Well, his choice of words was poor, but I agree with his larger point.

You can mark me up for column 3.

Since Barack Obama entered the presidential race, there has been no shortage of “brave” Americans willing to talk about race. Geraldine Ferraro, for instance. PUMA superhero Harriet Christian, for instance. The six jillion people who wrote “Is America ready for a black president?” articles, for instance. Every pollster, for instance. Your boss, for instance.

It seems like discussions of race are A-OK if you’re talking about getting over it. But see what happens the minute you try to get people to take responsibility for racism. For participating in it, allowing it, or simply failing to recognize it when they see it.

Tommy on: Daily Dose I Twitter
Order The Audacity of Democracy Starring Tommy Christopher

3 Comments

  1. I grew up a very sheltered life, I saw my first black person when I was 5 or 6, and I thought they were sick. Once my father explained ethnic background and differences in looks, that made everything ok for me. I never thought of any person as being different than the rest of the world, other than they come from someplace were their skin is darker or lighter, their hair is darker or lighter, facial features are different. When race riots broke out in LA I was completly at a loss as to why this was happening. This was these people own neighborhood and they were destroying it, and for what? And now everytime I hear something racial on the news, it seems to be said by a black person. Mainly Rev Jackson. He seems to think everything is racial. And if it isn;t the center of some problem he is quick to bring it up and make it.
    People need to do a little geneoligy on themselves, they could be very shocked to find who builds the lines to creat them. Pres. Obama is a little darker than I am, and he comes from mixed racial heartige. I understand people didn’t think we would ever have a “Black” President (dumb thinking on my part) But know that we do, get over it and lets see what the “man” can do to get our country out of this mess. That by the way I feel other polititions and CEO’s put us in. They are the ones that should be punished and made to bail us out, not “We the People of the United State”.

  2. […] Can’t Keep Georgetown Prof From Schooling Pat Buchanan I love this video, as it totally proves my point from yesterday, about Eric Holder’s remarks.  Just to refresh your mammaries: It seems like discussions of […]

  3. Speaking of U.S. Attorney General Eric Holder:

    Eric Holder is a racial-minority individual, and in his heart and mind he inevitably does not endorse hate crimes committed by George W. Bush.

    George W. Bush committed hate crimes of epic proportions and with the stench of terrorism (indicated in my blog).

    George W. Bush did in fact commit innumerable hate crimes.

    And I do solemnly swear by Almighty God that George W. Bush committed other hate crimes of epic proportions and with the stench of terrorism which I am not at liberty to mention.

    Many people know what Bush did.

    And many people will know what Bush did—even to the end of the world.

    Bush was absolute evil.

    Bush is now like a fugitive from justice.

    Bush is a psychological prisoner.

    Bush has a lot to worry about.

    Bush can technically be prosecuted for hate crimes at any time.

    In any case, Bush will go down in history in infamy.

    Submitted by Andrew Yu-Jen Wang
    B.S., Summa Cum Laude, 1996
    Messiah College, Grantham, PA
    Lower Merion High School, Ardmore, PA, 1993

    “GEORGE W. BUSH IS THE WORST PRESIDENT IN U.S. HISTORY” BLOG OF ANDREW YU-JEN WANG
    _____________________
    I am not sure where I had read it before, but anyway, it is a linguistically excellent statement, and it goes kind of like this: “If only it were possible to ban invention that bottled up memories so they never got stale and faded.” Oh wait—off the top of my head—I think the quotation came from my Lower Merion High School yearbook.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

