Poor Jeff Zeleny

I wrote a little about this at Politics Daily today, but I wanted to sort of clarify here.  Here’s what I wrote about it there, for starters:slipper

The best moment of the night, for me, was when the President good-naturedly punished Jeff Zeleny for his overwrought, four-part question about…wait, I can’t do it justice:

Jeff Zeleny: Thank you, Mr. President. During these first 100 days, what has surprised you the most about this office, enchanted you the most about serving this in office, humbled you the most and troubled you the most?

Enchanted? Um, I guess I’d have to say it’s the glass slippers the Secret Service puts on me every morning. Of course, they’re bulletproof glass, so that’s the troubling part.

I just want Jeff to know, if he’s reading this, that I totally sympathize.

I’m sure we’ve all asked questions that we wish we could take back even before we got them out.  That question probably sounded great when he scribbled it on a bar napkin the night before to impress the assembled honeys.

I once asked a Governor’s chief of staff a question that had already been the subject of several news articles that I had (obviously) missed, although in my defense, it was the weekend.

I also once misidentified Joe DiMaggio as the Yankees’ captain at a press conference.  Now, that’s embarrassing, and worth Bro Code demerits, to boot.

Still, “enchanted?”  No dude should ever have a reason to use that word.

Update: PCL makes an excellent point.  The Bro Code does allow a dude to utter any words, in any combination, in service of getting laid, but his bros must never hear of it.  Like, “Wow, Misty, your poetry is enchanting” is totally acceptable.

3 Comments

  1. Enchanted? That is a word that should only be used in the art of seduction.

    Was Jeff seduced by Obama’s incredible presence? Or was he trying to seduce Obama so that Obama will pick on him for questions in the future? I’m just saying . . .

  2. Enchanted is the perfect word to describe the infatuation of the press corps! So I don’t blame him for using it.

    Bob

  3. “Some enchanted evening…” I’m also envisioning Dougray Scott at the moment….mmmm.

    PCL….LOL and great point 😉

    Well, DiMaggio WAS indeed the de facto leader in the Yankees clubhouse, if not the actual Captain, so you do get some points for that, my dear.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

