Disgraced Senator John Ensign is a Big Honking Hypocrite!1!!

I know, I’m late to the party on this one, but I have to get my piece in on Sen. John Ensign’s (R-Nevada) resignation amid his admission of an extra-marital affair.  I only have 2 things to say about it.

First, I don’t begrudge my fellow liberals the glee of reveling in Ensign’s pontification-at-length on the importance and superiority of opposite marriage (stipulating that the affair didn’t make his comments any stupider or meritless-er).  The comeuppance certainly yummy, and worth savoring.

But what I will say is that, just once, I’d like for one of these screwing-around-like-drunken-rabbits politicians to get caught, and for HuffPo or Hot Air to dig up something like this:

The Senator, caught with several cocktail waitresses in what witnesses described as a “Fredo-esque display,” has a long record of supporting promiscuity and opposing traditional family values.  He even opposed 1997’s landmark “Eating isn’t Cheating Act of 1997” (HR 0u812) on grounds that it did not go far enough.

The other hilarious part of this is that Ensign apparently harbored some Presidential hopes.  Sure, the GOP field is pretty wide open, but who is going to vote to elect President Ensign?  Isn’t that like reporting to General Sergeant?

One more thing.  Ensign had to resign as the 4th most powerful Republican in the Senate, and for that, I have words of consolation.  That is not a very steep hill to climb.

7 Comments

  1. I loved the headline, “Ensign Announces Extramarital Affair”

  2. OK, these comments I’m pasting here are from an AOL article about an Onion video that depicts a ‘morning show’ interview with the fake parents of a real gymnast. The gag is that she broke her leg and they had her put down. Below the article I found a treasure trove of stupidity. Without further ado I present the stupidest comment section ever. Enjoy

    6-17-2009 @ 8:17PM
    Jennifer said…

    I am in love and his name is Mr. Power Colon Cleanse http://tinyurl.com/PowerColonCleanse ! This is by far the best cleansing product available. I saw it on Oprah and thought I would give it a try. Power Colon Cleanse has pretty much changed the way I live my life. My daily chores are done in a breeze and I have more energy, not to mention more time in my day since I don’t mind jumping out of bed in the mornings at 7:00 am now. This is not just a cleanser. It is also a detox. I can feel it working and have only been using it for 6 weeks.
    I owe my life to http://tinyurl.com/PowerColonCleanse

    Half a star vote downvote upReport
    moodi5464

    6-17-2009 @ 8:49PM
    moodi546 said…

    funny…butkind of sick at the same time. Why would anyone’s parents go on TV and tell people that they had euthanized their daughter…even if they were just kidding?

    2 stars vote downvote upReport
    mike5

    6-17-2009 @ 9:42AM
    mike said…

    It amused me. It wasn’t making fun of Shawn, just making fun of the way sports parents can seem a lot like horse owners.

    Reply
    2 stars vote downvote upReport
    dtenore6

    6-17-2009 @ 11:48AM
    dtenore said…

    Maybe The Onion should have invented a character for the bit. The young lady is taking it seriously, which is understandable… but the spoof is very funny.

    Reply
    2 stars vote downvote upReport
    bradgnoyes7

    6-17-2009 @ 12:42PM
    bradgnoyes said…

    that is funny, plain and simple. if it upsets you, then the real problem is your own self-absorption.

    Reply
    2 stars vote downvote upReport
    grimslade58

    6-17-2009 @ 2:08PM
    grimslade5 said…

    yeah not seeing the humor

    Reply
    2 stars vote downvote upReport
    BaBi GuRl9

    6-17-2009 @ 2:35PM
    BaBi GuRl said…

    i think thats prtty stu-id. is that real or fake??

    Reply
    2 stars vote downvote upReport
    gballmichaels10

    6-17-2009 @ 2:41PM
    gballmichaels said…

    That is just brilliant. Hysterical.

    Reply
    2 stars vote downvote upReport
    annkayjay11

    6-17-2009 @ 2:41PM
    annkayjay said…

    Totally stupid. Not funny at all. LAME.

    Reply
    2 stars vote downvote upReport
    Jocelyn12

    6-17-2009 @ 9:23PM
    Jocelyn said…

    yah i agree wit u this isnt funny at all and there was no point of it i think the police should find out who started it

    2 stars vote downvote upReport
    CONFEDERATE13

    6-17-2009 @ 2:49PM
    CONFEDERATE said…

    WHO WITH ANY COMMON SENSE WOULD BEGIN TO BELIEVE THE GIRL HAD BEEN PUT DOWN. WITH THE INTELLEGENCE LEVEL IN THIS COUNTRY NO WONDER HUSSIAN IS PRESIDENT.

    Reply
    2 stars vote downvote upReport
    paradine14

    6-17-2009 @ 3:48PM
    paradine said…

    you are an idiot, you talk about other peoples intellegence yet you cannot even spell Hussein properly. I’ll give you a little leeway though since your screen name is confederate obviously you are an inbred coward who won’t even use his real name in posts. Just another hill jack wimp with a fourth grade education.

    2 stars vote downvote upReport
    hzelblues115

    6-17-2009 @ 4:03PM
    hzelblues1 said…

    It’s Hussein…but I gather you wouldn’t know that.

    3 stars vote downvote upReport
    jpochiro16

    6-17-2009 @ 4:24PM
    jpochiro said…

    Very True Confederate. Who cares if you can’t spell hussein. I have a hard time spelling kunta-kinte myself

    Half a star vote downvote upReport
    Joyce17

    6-17-2009 @ 6:11PM
    Joyce said…

    Cheer Up!!! Things could be worse. Sooooo, I
    cheered up and sure enough, things got worse…
    and continue to so.

    2.5 stars vote downvote upReport
    anniedale18

    6-17-2009 @ 8:48PM
    anniedale said…

    screw you republicans

    1 star vote downvote upReport
    steve19

    6-17-2009 @ 2:51PM
    steve said…

    grow a sense of humor already

    some people are just hopeless

    Reply
    3 stars vote downvote upReport
    Steve20

    6-17-2009 @ 2:56PM
    Steve said…

    Really, I don’t see anything funny about this. there is a really lame attempt at humor, but NOT FUNNY. Those who do find it funny have a sock sense of humor.I think it should be pulled off the net , to show respect for the gymnast….

  3. Ooops! How ironic. This is the link
    http://backporch.fanhouse.com/2009/06/17/shawn-johnson-dead-video-doesnt-amuse-her-friends-and-family/?icid=main|main|dl7|link4|http%3A%2F%2Fbackporch.fanhouse.com%2F2009%2F06%2F17%2Fshawn-johnson-dead-video-doesnt-amuse-her-friends-and-family%2F

  4. Why do we really care about his affair?
    Why does he feel the need to tell the world?

  5. So we ~feel his pain~. I guess.

  6. “He even opposed 1997’s landmark “Eating isn’t Cheating Act of 1997″ (HR 0u812)”

    “Eating isn’t Cheating”? If I need to ask what that means is because I’m getting old, right..? BTW, I missed the announcement and just want to know: Did he bring a date…? Tradition mandates that you bring one for these occasions…


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

