Cartoon Major Garrett News – Update: We Have a Timetable

cartoonmajor

Update: Major says “This weekend…if I can figure it out.”

Jun 18, 2009 @ 20:22

If you don’t know what #cartoonmajor means, you might just want to skip this one.

Fox News White House correspondent Major Garrett is a recent addition to the Twitter community, having joined a couple of weeks ago.  Almost immediately, folks began to suggest icons for Garrett, as he currently uses a default avatar.

Then, some conservative tweeps launched a campaign to get Garrett to use an icon based on the South Park cartoon series, while simultaneously annoying the crap out of Jake Tapper.

I’m happy to report that Major hasn’t been ignoring the #cartoonmajor campaign.  He has been blissfully unaware of it.  Like many new Twitter users, he wouldn’t know a hashtag from a hashbrown.  Hell, I’m still not sure why you need the little tic-tac-toe thingy there, myself.

When I told him about it, he seemed to get a kick out of it.  I actually had to laugh as I explained it to him out loud.  On Twitter, this sounds like the most normal thing in the world.

I emailed him a link to the #cartoonmajor hashtag.  It is out of my hands now, Tweeps.  I’ve done my part.

7 Comments

  1. So Tommy, did he say that me and Stephen’s hard work is going to payoff? @marshallsheldon

  2. Well, he laughed when I told him about it. He seemed flattered.

  3. If Major is flattered by that, he should see what I do to the the blow up doll that I named after him.

  4. Tommy…

    The hashtag USED to be necessary for the tag to be searchable, but it’s not necessary anymore.

    If you want to bash Motel 6 on Twitter, anyone searching for “Motel 6” will find it without you making #motel6.

    Now, here are the two practical reasons for using a hashtag:

    1) Items appearing after the hash automatically become hyperlinked directly to the search.twitter.com page for that term. Much in the same way that @tommyxtopher automatically becomes a hyperlink to your page. It’s a shortened syntax for creating links.

    2) It is a subconscious signal that the issue is viral, or you wish it to go viral. Writing “Motel 6 sucks!” is an expression of your venting, at, say, finding a roach nest in your pillowcase. However, if you wrote #motel6sucks, the vast majority of people will click on it to see who ELSE is using the hashtag. Some will add their own stories and tweets, and it will build momentum.

    Maybe #motel6sucks isn’t the best example. But you can see how #bushism would spread, or #bailloutfail or #obamafly might take off.

  5. Well I’m sure by now he’s seen the tag. Hopefully he’ll do something about it. Good write up Tommy! Thanks for helping the cause. 😉

  6. Thanks for the info. What the fuck happened to you at Motel 6? lol.

  7. Nothing happened at Motel 6. I’m not even annoyed by Tom Bodett. It just popped into my head as a hypothetical. I have no idea why.

    I’m enjoying the site, for what it’s worth.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

