New Palin Emails Show She Tried to Get McCain Campaign to Lie

Update: I changed my headline from “New Palin Emails Suggest She Tried to Get McCain Campaign to Lie” to “New Palin Emails Show She Tried to Get McCain Campaign to Lie” because so many people challenged the original headline.  The emails do more than suggest she was trying to get the campaign to lie.  She clearly was.  My mistake.

So the facts are: Gov. Palin was not a member of this third-party (“Alaska First — Alaska Always”) that wants Alaskans to get a vote on whether or not the state can secede from the U.S. But her husband was a long-time member, and at least two AIP officials recall her attending the 1994 convention, though she says she did not attend.

A new set of Sarah Palin emails has been leaked that could do serious damage to her long-term political prospects. CBS News has obtained a string of communications, between Palin and McCain chief strategist Steve Schmidt, that suggests that the Alaska Governor tried to quash the story of her husband’s involvement with the secessionist Alaska Independence Party with an incredible assertion:

“(Secession)’s not part of their platform and (Todd) was only a ‘member’ bc independent alaskans too often check that ‘Alaska Independent’ box on voter registrations thinking it just means non partisan,” Palin wrote. “He caught his error when changing our address and checked the right box. I still want it fixed.”

Schmidt’s reply was unequivocal:

“Secession,” he wrote. “It is their entire reason for existence. A cursory examination of the website shows that the party exists for the purpose of seceding from the union. That is the stated goal on the front page of the web site. Our records indicate that todd was a member for seven years. If this is incorrect then we need to understand the discrepancy. The statement you are suggesting be released would be innaccurate.

Palin has weathered political firestorms greater than this, but the suggestion that she tried to lie so nakedly is damaging in a way that wardrobe malfunctions and fumbled interviews are not. The artlessness of the excuse, too, fits the narrative of Palin as less-than-brilliant.

The real story here, however, is the question of who leaked these emails, and why now? The timing coincides closely with another Palin email story and with a scathing Vanity Fair article about her. It sure seems like a campaign is underway to finish Palin’s political career off, once and for all.

The list of suspects is long, especially since Palin copied so many people on her responses to Schmidt, but the specific identity of the leaker isn’t that important. This is just the latest volley in what I see as an ongoing effort by the GOP to wrest influence from Sarah Palin. The catalyst here may have been all of the attention Palin received, much of it sympathetic, during her recent feud with David Letterman.

16 Comments

  1. Who really cares who leaked it? Personally, I think it’s Meghan McCain doing all the leaking, because this smacks of her immaturity. It’s obvious that Palin is a threat to everyone in politics, including her own party! Sad, but true. The email from Schmidt says “IF the information is incorrect”, suggesting that Schmidt is referencing information about Todd that may not be correct. It’s a pretty big stretch, and I’m sure the MSM will “run like the wind” to continue to spread the bullsh*t lies and innuendo in order to find anything to discredit Sarah Palin, but from reiading what you posted, I think it’s a long shot. Let the spin begin!

  2. Obama: I never heard my Racist, anti-Semitic and conspiracy peddling Pastor/Mentor/Father figure say anything bad, even though I sat in his church for decades.

    Schmidt ran a crap campaign for months and everyone knows it. He can continue to try and throw Palin under the bus to save his own ass(a move that works if the media wants to believe you … just ask Obama), but future candidates with at least half a brain will never let that man near their campaign.

    At some point there will be consequences for the never ending bias of the MSM. Let’s ignore Obama’s falling poll numbers, foreign policy missteps and reckless legislative agenda. Let’s ignore the failure of the stimulus, the ballooning deficit and the risk of inflation that has been created via unprecedented spending. Instead let’s focus on the Governor of Alaska.

    You’re a good writer and I’m sorry about unloading here, Tommy, but it’s all starting to get to me.

  3. I do not think she gained any traction forward with Letterman. She looked like a moron. That’s because, wait for it…….

  4. She’s an egg-salad sandwich?

  5. Another “cult of personality” politician (a la Obama) being exposed for what they are; Inexperienced pretty people

  6. Obama: I never heard my Racist, anti-Semitic and conspiracy peddling Pastor/Mentor/Father figure say anything bad, even though I sat in his church for decades.

    Obama: Bill Ayers? I think he is ‘a guy who lives in my neighborhood‘ and ‘who is not somebody I exchange ideas from on a regular basis’…well, I did write a review of his book in 1997, but that is a coincidence…and besides, I can get away with saying that because it is 2008 and journalism is a thing of the past…

  7. Wow, you guys need to get over a few things. Like the fact that your party has been shredded, eviscerated if you will, and the ones that are attacking Palin seriously are her fellow Republicans who have tended their own careers at God only knows what price, only to see their chances at wresting some power in the chaos threatened by Gov. Winksalot.

    Let’s cut the crap, at least some of it. No one the republican party has made an honest statement on anything. Everything is said for effect only without a thought for facts. Simple buzz words and talking points. I can’t defend many Dems on this either ACCEPT Barack Obama. I won’t even tell you he is a man of principle, though I believe this to be true. All you need to believe is that he is the smartest man in the game. Get this; he knows how dirty the Senate is. You cannot be a successful Senator for any length of time and not nullify yourself politically. Therefore they are ALL DIRTY. Dirty and vulnerable. You are about to be played and played thoroughly so you might as well sit back and enjoy it. Or at least take notes. You’re going to need them.

    The House of course is full of crack whores and since I kind of like crack whores I’m giving them a pass.

    Some day soon, a conservative is going to have to start actually thinking.

  8. “Another “cult of personality” politician (a la Obama) being exposed for what they are; Inexperienced pretty people”

    Speaking of attractiveness, we all know power is an aphrodisiac, but c’mon, Governor of South Carolina? That should get you laid I guess but the Argentinian girl seems to be quality peeps, ya know? Now it looks like he had a string of girlfriends all on his Palmetto State Gubernatorial mojo. Was it his personality, Symple?

    In the interests of bipartisanship Symple, I’d like to thank you for admitting that the President is an attractive man. To reciprocate, I’ll admit your Gov Palin gave me a bit of a boner as well!
    Don’t we all feel better now?

  9. I can’t stand Palin, that’s why I posted what I did. Where did Sanford come from? I can’t stand him either. What on earth are you talking about???

  10. By the way, you need to figure out the difference between ‘Accept’, and ‘except’.

  11. People who drink and post are hilarious

  12. “Another “cult of personality” politician (a la Obama) being exposed for what they are; Inexperienced pretty people”
    Is this not your statement? My subject was attraction so I used your quote. I assumed with the ‘a la Obama’ thing that you were from the other side
    You need to figure out the difference between being witty and being a dick and I’ll thank you to MYOB on my drinking habits, Dick.

  13. ‘Dick Symple’, you got me on the erroneous usage of ‘accept’ there. How embarrassing for me and how dickish of you to point it out. This is why I drink.

  14. Yes, I am a strange one. I don’t line up with either party and choose to think independently. What a concept! Perhaps you should try it.

  15. […] Power!  Do not underestimate the power of my dildo predicting skills.  I’m a dildo Jedi.  This is where you saw my dildo brain began to think something was really wrong with Palin — the […]

  16. […] to cash in on whatever goodwill was left after the Letterman thing. I thought it was that goodwill that caused the attack on Palin in the first […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

