Google’s Evil Plot to Rule the World, Stage 4

alex01thumbI knew this day would come.

My friends and I were hanging around, talking about nothing, when we decided that one day, Google would release an operating system. It would be fast, it would be open-source, and it would most likely be free. “Yeah, but when?” “I don’t know. A couple years from now, maybe.”

Well, strike up the band, folks, we have a winner. Google has decided to release a new operating system that is “open source, lightweight […] will initially be targeted at netbooks. Later this year we will open-source its code, and netbooks running Google Chrome OS will be available for consumers in the second half of 2010.”

I went to grab the Google header, I got a special Happy Birthday, Nikola Tesla! header instead. Ominous.

I went to grab the Google header, I got a special "Happy Birthday, Nikola Tesla!" header instead. Ominous.

It’s the fourth sign, guys. First they came for the search engines, and I did not speak up, because I was not particularly attached to Altavista and Google Search was so much better. Then they came for the email, and I did not speak up, because frankly my Yahoo! mail was overcrowded and I needed to start over. Then they came for the browsers, and I did not speak up, because Chrome wouldn’t run on my machine. (Subsequently fixed — hey, guess which browser I’m writing this from?) Then they came for the OS…and, well, you can see where this is going. If it comes out and I’m still battling XP on this machine, I will quite likely back it all up and try this new beast of Chrome. It even sounds ominous. “Chrome”. Like “Project Titan”.

I, for one, welcome our new Chrome-based overlords.

1 Comment

  1. My complaint is that it’s one more step toward turning PCs into internet consoles plugged into remote mainframes. WebTV all over again.

    Ten years from now, all the control we’ll have over them will be the ability to unplug them — if that. No unapproved software. No unapproved hardware. No unapproved books/movies/music/games.

    No unapproved speech, maybe? Even the word processors will be under somebody else’s control

    Further down the line, our grandkids will be amazed and baffled that we had personal and individual control of our own computers.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

