The “Other Alex” Becomes a Star on Maddow Show

Careful readers of this blog will note that on April 15th, yours truly met not 1, but 2 different Alexes.  You know Alex Villanueva as Daily Dose Junior White House correspondent and contributing writer, but Alex and I both interviewed Alex Lawson that day, as he was on hand to counter-protest the Tax Day Tea Party.

Alex #2 also contributed to my Mediaite story about the 9/12 demonstration, and tonight, his Billionaires for Wealthcare were featured prominently on the Rachel Maddow Show.  Here’s the video she highlighted in the spot:

Honestly, when I first saw Alex’s group, I wasn’t sold.  I thought the conceit played into stereotypes of liberal smugness.  After seeing how Alex dealt with the crowd, and after speaking with him afterward, I came around a little.  Either way, I was very impressed with Alex’s poise and conviction.  In real life, he doesn’t have a trace of wiseass in him.

Here’s Alex’s group being manhandled by Tea Party protesters:

You can see my interview with him here:

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

