Juan Williams is NOT the only black male on-air personality at NPR

Here’s the quote:

“And now they have used an honest statement of feeling as the basis for a charge of bigotry to create a basis for firing me. Well, now that I no longer work for NPR let me give you my opinion. This is an outrageous violation of journalistic standards and ethics by management that has no use for a diversity of opinion, ideas or a diversity of staff (I was the only black male on the air).”

TOTAL BALONEY!

Not only is he not the only black male on the air, he is not the only black PERSON on the air. That’s absurd. In fact, if you look at the on air bios, it appears to be a pretty proportionate group to the United States, and has of people with an abundance of women, in fact.

Here’s some black on air personalities:

Korva Coleman

Audie Cornish

Cheryl Corley

Vertamae Grosvenor

Danyell Irby

Allison Keyes

Al Letson

John Murph

Ofeibea Quist-Arcton

Shay Stevens

Gwen Thompkins

Glynn Washington

Cornel West

Nancy Wilson

Each of these people appears to be black, but ‘I don’t see color’ (Colbert).  And, several of them are men.

So, I guess because black men were not in the studio when Juan Cole was, there aren’t any? If a tree falls in the forest I suppose …

Edited to add: Never would I say that there couldn’t be MORE diversity in on-air reporting in teevee and radio, but I’m just saying Juan is wrong.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

